Progress Report January 2008

graham menzies foundation

progress report no. 4

envelope

Hi everybody!

From now on, our monthly report will always be available here on the last day of the month. Just log on to www.grahammenziesfoundation.com then click “blog”.

daffodilJanuary 2008

 

I’m not sure where to begin or who to thank first! So I think I’ll start with the letters. So many of you took the time and made the effort to send us letters of recommendation and support for our Welsh Centre for Recovery Project – and at a particularly busy time of year! I am truly grateful to you all and would like to say a BIG thankyou.

 

Funding

02 Community Awards are giving us a grant (hoorah)! …But they haven’t told us how much we will be awarded yet! Very mysterious… I’ll keep you up-dated!

The donation link on our web site will soon be active. I’m just waiting for our charity pay-pal account to be confirmed.

 

Web site

A million-billion-trillion thanks to the multi-talented Darren Jones who has created this site and blog. In addition to being a fabulous web designer I have it on good authority that Darren is also a health conscious cook and a marvellous constituency officer.

This site is still in progress but all the links will soon be active.

Logo

A beautiful logo is being designed by Suzanne Barrett and Joanna in Hamburg. It is so pretty I almost cried! The logo is winging it’s way to the UK as fast as it can – I can’t wait for you all to see it! It’s even better than this one (right). Graham would be so proud…

PR

I was on TV! I was on TV! They made we walk up and down the stairs outside the Welsh Assembly about fifteen times – I felt as though I was on “America’s Next Top Model”.

I was also busy with radio interviews and formal statments, mainly because Bethan Jenkins AM organised the lauch of an All Party Eating Disorders Group. (To read more about the group click separate “Cross Party Group” link).

In brief… Edwina Hart was much funnier and less scary than I could have imagined. I ate all the grapes and bought some glittery gell pens from the millenium centre shop (but they didn’t work) which was rubbish because I was taking the minutes. Many clever people had imaginative thoughts and ideas regarding eating disorders awareness week. And…

I spoke to a couple at the end who have a niece with anorexia. Her bmi is dangerously low and they can’t find any appropiate help. They nolonger know what to do. It was heartbreaking.

 

Eating disorders Awareness Week (EDAW)

…begins on the 25th Feb. This year the special interest subject is carers. To take part in a study or to raise funds, visit the national eating disorders association at: http://www.b-eat.co.uk

We are also planning an awareness raising day at WAG on Wednesday 27th. If you would like to be represented or to take part in some way then please contact me, or Bethan Jenkins AM.

Eating Disorders Awareness Week 2008

Bethan Jenkins AM,

Chair Cross Party Committee on Eating Disorders

Invites you to an event to mark Eating Disorders Awareness Week 2008

Venue: The Neuadd, National Assembly for Wales

Time: 17:30

Date: Wednesday, 27th February 2008

Details to follow

**********************************

Wythnos Ymwybyddiaeth Anhwylderau Bwyta 2008

Mae Bethan Jenkins AC

Yn eich gwahodd i ddigwyddiad i nodi

Wythnos Ymwybyddiaeth Anhwylderau Bwyta 2008

Lleoliad: Y Neuadd, Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru

Amser: 17:30

Dyddiad: Dydd Mervher, 27ain o Chwefror 2008

Manylion i ddilyn

Finally…

I don’t write much about Graham here. There are a few posts under “grief” (right hand side of this page).

But… Graham Clifford Menzies died on the 24th January 2007. He was a giant amongst men. It was the one year anniversary of his death on Thursday and I am as completely, madly, crazily and wonderfully in love with him today as I was this time last year.

I miss you with every fibre of my being Graham and I am so proud and humbled and privalidged to have been loved by you.

Your Wenna

XXXXX

XXX

XX

X

Graham with turtle XXX

 

 

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

